Menu JTA Search

Samuel Rothberg Elected Non-party Member of Executive of WZO and Jewish Agency

Samuel Rothberg of Peoria, 111., midwest business executive and national Jewish leader, has been elected as a non-party member of the Executive of the World Zionist Organization and the Jewish Agency. Mr. Rothberg is national campaign chairman for the State of Israel Bond Organization, of which he was a founder. He is also president of Capital for Israel, Inc. and president of Israel Investors Corp. His election makes him one of five non-party American members. The others are Rabbi Leon Feuer. Dr. Ben Halpern, Rabbi Arthur Hertzberg and Rabbi Emanuel Rackman. Two members of the Executive of the American section of the Jewish Agency, who also are members of the world Executive, are Dr. Emanuel Neumann, American section chairman and Mrs. Charlotte Jacobson. Mr. Rothberg has been a key figure in the development of higher education in Israel. He is Chairman of the Board of Governors of Hebrew University, President of the American Friends of the Hebrew University, and the recipient of its 1962 Scopus Award.