Il Jews Win Offices in South African Provincial Elections
Menu JTA Search

Il Jews Win Offices in South African Provincial Elections

Download PDF for this date

Eleven Jews, all members of the United Party, were among the successful candidates in the recent Provincial Council elections. The United Party is South Africa’s largest opposition party. Elected to office in Transvaal Province were Issy Kramer, H. Schwarz, D. H. Epstein. A. B. Widman, S. Moss and Aleck Jaffe. Elected from Cape Province were S.L. Gross, C. Brett, B. Lazarus and T. Aronson. H.J. Jacobs was elected from Natal Province. The Provincial Council’s are the most important elective bodies next to Parliament and the election was fought on national issues, While the governing National Party with 118 overall Council seats maintains an over whelming lead, the United Party with 59 seats, gained six seats. All 22 candidates of the extreme right Herenigde Party, which makes Calvinism a test of membership, were defeated as were all 14 candidates, including three Jews, of the Progressive Party. Mr. Moss is Mayor of Johannesburg and Mr. Widman, Deputy Mayor. Mr. Lazarus is Mayor of East London.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund