General Zionists Elects New Head
Menu JTA Search

General Zionists Elects New Head

Download PDF for this date

Ezra Shapiro of Cleveland, now chairman of Keren Hayesod and living in Israel, was elected president of the World Confederation of General Zionists at the concluding session of its world conference. He succeeds Dr. Israel Goldstein and Mrs. Rose Halprin who had been co-chairmen of the Federation since its formation and were named honorary life presidents. Lord Janner of Great Britain was elected Honorary Vice-President.

The Confederation, to which Hadassah in the US is affiliated, is the second largest group in the World Zionist Organization. All elections were by acclamation. They are for a two-year term. Kalman Sultanik was elected executive vice-president (he was later elected to the Zionist Executive). Elected as vice-presidents were: Mrs. Charlotte Jacobson, Mrs. Faye Schenk, Dr. Harris Levine and Rabbi Isidore Bresalu, all of the US; Michel Topiol and Dr. I. Benvenisti of France; Sidney L. Shipton of Great Britain, Morris Borsuk of South Africa and Nathan Jacobson of Australia.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund