Sydney M. Harris New President of Cjc
Menu JTA Search

Sydney M. Harris New President of Cjc

Download PDF for this date

The Canadian Jewish Congress’ 17th Plenary Assembly ended three days of intensive meetings today with the election of Sydney M. Harris of Toronto as national president and a series of resolutions which widened the program for Jewish education and activities in outlying communities. The election of national officers also reflected a general consensus of hundreds of delegates from coast to coast, to intensify the public relations programs on behalf of Israel, and to broaden the base of this “parliament” of Canadian Jewry to wider grass roots, and “people” participation, both as leaders and beneficiaries.

Others named to the national officer’s slate include Sol Kanee of Winnipeg, immediate past president, chairman of the board of governors; Judge Harold Lande of Montreal, honorary vice-president; Prof. Perry Meyer of Montreal, chairman of the executive committee; Dr. Leon Kronitz of Montreal, immediate past chairman of the executive committee; Isadore Wolfe Oscar Antel, David Satok and Murray B. Spiegel, vice-presidents respectively representing the Pacific, Western, Central and Eastern regions; Nachum Wilchesky of Montreal, treasurer; and Sidney Midanik, secretary.

Harris, in his first official remarks as president, said it was his determination to make “this democratic organization, more democratic than ever” in spirit as well as fact.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund