Menu JTA Search

Rockefeller Heads Israeli Independence Fete Committee

Vice President Nelson Rockefeller is chairman of the honorary committee for the Israel Independence Ball in celebration of Israel’s 27th anniversary to be held at the Washington Hilton Hotel, June 15.

The committee for the black tie affair also includes Speaker of the House Carl Albert, Supreme Court Justice William O. Douglas, six Cabinet members led by Treasury Secretary William Simon, the leaders of the Democratic and Republican Parties in the House and Senate, Maryland Governor Marvin Mandel, District of Columbia delegate in the Congress, Walter E. Fauntroy, and Washington’s Mayor Walter E. Washington.

The celebration will take place two days after Israeli Premier Yitzhak Rabin meets with President Ford on June 11-12 at the White House.