Technion Giving 1981 Harvey Awards to Two British Scientists
Menu JTA Search

Technion Giving 1981 Harvey Awards to Two British Scientists

Download PDF for this date

The Technion, Israel’s Institute of Technology in Haifa, will award its 1981 annual Harvey Prize to two British scientists, Technion president Amos Horev announced.

The prizes, worth $35,000 each, will be given on June 21 to Prof. Sir James Lighthill and Prof. Hans Kosterlitz. Lighthill, provost of University College in London, received the award in science and technology for his pioneering work in fluid mechanics. Kosterlitz, Director of the Aberdeen University addictive drug unit, received the award in public health.

The Harvey Prize was established in 1971 with a $1 million gift bearing the name of the late Lee Harvey of Los Angeles, leader of the American Technion Society.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund