Prize for French Writer
Menu JTA Search

Prize for French Writer

Download PDF for this date

The Foundation for French Judaism has awarded its annual prize to Alain Fienkelkraut, a writer and lecturer who is the author of eight books, most of which deal with Jewish matters. Fienkelkraut, 37, is also a visiting professor at the University of California, Berkeley. The Foundation, chaired by David De Rothschild, awards its prize each year for outstanding achievements in the fields of literature, arts and science.

The jury is headed by Nobel laureate mathematician Andre Lwoff. Its members include Prof. Leon Schwartzenberg, a leading French cancer researcher, and Robert Badinter, former Minister of Justice, who heads the Constitutional Council, one of France’s highest courts.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund