News Brief

China, Iran, Iraq, Myanmar and Sudan could face U.S. diplomatic and economic sanctions for violating religious freedom, State Department officials said Wednesday. The five countries were designated under a provision of last year’s Religious Freedom Act. The law also requires the State Department to prepare an annual report monitoring religious persecution around the world.