Menu JTA Search

News Brief

Aharon Appelfeld became the latest Israeli author to win an Italian literary prize.

Appelfeld was awarded the Grinzane Cavour’s 2008 special prize for his novel “Badenheim, 1939.”

Other Israeli authors to receive a Grinzane Cavour Award include A.B. Yehoshua; David Grossman, who won for foreign literature in 1994 and 1997; Amos Oz, for Mediterranean culture in 2007; and Sayed Kashua, an Israeli Arab who writes in Hebrew, for new authors in 2004.

The awards, organized by a foundation in Piedmont and sponsored by regional authorities, were first conferred in 1982.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund