Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Polish Jewry Pays Tribute to Dead Polish Writer

October 27, 1924
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The Kehillah of Warsaw, the Rabbinate, the Association of Jewish Writers and Journalists and other Jewish institutions and organizations will be represented at the re-burial of the famous Polish writer, Henry Sienkiewicz.

The remains of Sienkiewicz, who was buried in Switzerland, have been removed to Poland.

Court Justice Joseph L. Proskauer, and Joseph L. Buttenwieser, President of the Federation, were speakers. Dr. David de Sola Pool and Dr. Morris H. Harris offered prayers.

The largest contributions of the evening were: $50,000 donated by Mr. Frederick Brown and $25,000 by Felix M. Warburg, who pledged himself to raise another $25,000. The total sum raised during the dinner was $500,000. Following is the list of donations:

Frederick Brown, $50,000; F. M. Warburg $25,000; N. Y. Foundation, $10,000; Chas. Hirshon, $10,000; J. M. Schulte, $8,000; Charles Kaye. $8,000; J. J. Hanaer. $8,000; William Fox, $6,250; Mr. and Mrs. P. S. Straus. $8,000; Mr. and Mrs. H. August, $7,000; M. Guggenheim, $5,000; S. Guggenheim, $5,000; Emaa Wertheim (in memory of her huband, J. Wertheim) $5,000; David Schulte, $5,000; L. Vogelstein, $5,000; G. Biumenthal, $5,000; Max Kops, $5,000; H. Lehman, $4,000; `Jos L. Buttenwieser, $3,000; Samuel Sachs, $3,000; Harry Sachs, $3,000; Trustees Nathan Hotheimer Foundation, $3,000; H. L. Moses, $3,000; Anonymous, $2,500; Mr. and Mrs. L. S. Stroock, $2,500; I. M. Stettenheid, $2,000; N. J. Miller, $2,500; S. M. Lehman, $2,000; Arthur Leopold. $2,000; S. J. Bloomingdale, $2,000; E. Van Raake, $2,000; C. A. Wimptheimer, $2,500; Anonymous, $2,000; Morris White, $1,500; A. Rabinowitz, $1,500; A. L. Newman, $1,000; Leo Lowenstein, $1,000; Harry Rentner, $1,000; A. E. Norman, $1,000; Samuel Feiber, $1.000; Julius Loeb, $1,000; Otto Sussman. $1,000; H. Hen-dricks, $1,000; W. Blumenthal, $1,000; Mrs. I. Friedman, $1,000; Wm. Cldman, $1,000; H. Morgenthau, $1,000; Mrs. H. Morgenthau, $1,000; T. Rosenwald, $1,000; Max D. Steuer, $1,000; Col. H. A. Guinzberg, $1,000; Harry Steigel, $1,000; Samuel Saxe. $1,000; Harry Saxe, $1,000; B. S. Moss, $1,000; Jacob Sperber, $1,000; Justice Proskauer, $1,000; A. E. Steinthal, $1,000; Benjamin Weil, $1,000; E. Friedman, $750; Julius Beer, $500; Adolph Kastor, $500; L. O. Meinhard, $500; H. Blumenthal, $500; G. R. Davis, $500; C. L. Sulzberger, $500; Anonymous, $500; Edw. Goodman, $500; Met. News Co., $500; Samuel Weil, $500; M. Dryiocs. $500; S. S. Prince, $500; A. L. Erlanger, $500; J. E. Triest. $500; C. L. Morrison, $500; Employees of the Federation, $200.

Recommended from JTA