Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Dr. Julius Brodnitz, German-jewish Leader, Honored on Birthday

August 29, 1926
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

(Jewish Telegraphic Agency Mail Service)

Dr. Julius Brodnitz, the president of the Central Union of German Citizens of the Jewish Faith, celebrated his sixtieth birthday on Thursday. The Central Union planned a celebration of the occasion. The organ of the Union, the “C. V. Zeitung,” publishes an article by the Director of the Union, Dr. Ludwig Hollaender, praising Dr. Brodnitz as a true son of the Jewish people and of Germany.

An action to prevent a vote on the so-called Craig five-cent fare referendum was started by Louis Marshall of the law firm of Guggenheimer, Untermyer & Marshall, attorneys for Frank J. McCabe, of Brooklyn. Mr. McCabe was the relator last year of a similar action, which Supreme Court Justice Joseph M. Proskauer decided in his favor on the ground that there were not the required ninety days between the date of the passage of the referendum resolution by the Municipal Assembly, on Sept. 17, 1925, and election.

Rubin Ludwig, young Yiddish poet and novelist, died in Los Angeles, Cal. on Thursday. Mr. Ludwig, who suffered from tuberculosis, went to Los Angeles a year ago.

Dr. Samuel H. Rosenthal, Rochester, physician, died at the age of 47, in Mount Sinai Hospital, New York City, following an operation.

Dr. Rosenthal was born in Rochester. For ten years he lived in Grand Rapids. He was graduated from the Medical College of the University of Pennsylvania in 1900. He served two years in the United States Medical Corps during the war, part of the time with the army of occupation in Germany. He helped the development of Park Hospital of Rochester. He was president of the Rochester Medical Association a year ago and was a member of the Rochester Club, Irondequoit Country Club and other organizations.

The reception committee of representatives of athletic clubs to greet Gertrude Ederle on her return to New York includes Miss Charlotte Epstein, Women’s Swimming Association; Samuel J. Jacobs, Unison Club; William J. Jaafe, Samaclar Athletic Association; Harry Meyers, City Athletic Club; Nat Oak, Y. M. H. A., and Max Silver, Glencoe Athletic Club.

Recommended from JTA