Four Jewish Tickets Named in Polish Parliament Elections
Menu JTA Search

Four Jewish Tickets Named in Polish Parliament Elections

Download PDF for this date

On the eve of the parliamentary elections just before the election lists closed it was revealed that there will be four separate Jewish lists competing for the votes of the Jewish electorate. These are the Zionist bloc, the combination of the Agudath Israel, merchants and traders and artisans, the Jewish Socialists (Bund) and the Independent Socialists, and the Left Poale Zion bloc.

The united Zionist bloc registered to “protect the national rights of Polish Jews” has for its candidates Isaac Gruenbaum, Herschel Farbstein, Deputy Hartglass, Insler, Rosenblatt, Wigodski, Koerner, Brodt and Adolph Trusker. At the last minute the East Galician Zionists recalled the resolution they had adopted favoring cooperation with the Agudath Israel and decided to join the Zionist bloc. They registered their own list of candidates.

The united list of the Agudath Israel, merchants, small traders and artisans is registered as the “all-Jewish national economic bloc.” Its candidates are Rabbi Sorotkin, Attorney Suritz and Engineer Seidemann. The Jewish Socialists and Independent Socialists call themselves the “left Socialist elections bloc” and their candidates are Heinrich Ehrlich, Victor Alter and Joseph Kruk.

The Left Poale Zion bloc is registered as the “elections committee of the Poale Zion” and its candidates are Isaac Lev and Antoni Buksbaum. The pro-government list includes in 37th place the Agudist Jacob Minzberg and in 59th place M. Wislicki. For these two places the Agudath Israel has agreed not to nominate its own candidates in doubtful districts and urge its supporters to support the government list.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund