First Bialik Literature Awards Made by Poetry Widow
Menu JTA Search

First Bialik Literature Awards Made by Poetry Widow

Download PDF for this date

Mrs. A. D. Bialik, widow of Chaim Nachman Bialik, noted Hebrew poet, distributed the first Bialik Foundation awards for literature, first prize of $1,000 going to Professor Israel Davidson of the Jewish Theological Seminary of New York for his anthology of Hebrew poetry of the Middle Ages. The awards, announced yesterday, were sent out today in connection with the observance of the sixty-second anniversary of the Hebrew poet laureate, who died July 4, 1934. They included, besides Prof. Davidson’s prize, a $1,000 award to Zalman Shneur, a $500 second prize to be divided between Avigdor Hameiri and Jehudah Burlo and $375 to Prof. Saul Tschnerichovsky for translation. Other prize winners were Michael Asaf and A. Bar-Droma.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund