Comittee Appointed by ZOA to Seek Silver-wise Reconcilliation is Unacceptable to Silver
Menu JTA Search

Comittee Appointed by ZOA to Seek Silver-wise Reconcilliation is Unacceptable to Silver

Download PDF for this date

The appointment of a committee to explore the possiblities for bringing about reconciliation between the group supporting Dre Abba Hillel Silver and the group backing Dr. Stephen S. Wise in the controversy which has split the ranks of the American Zionist movement, was announced here today by Dr. Israel Goldstein, president of the Zionist Organization of America.

The ZOA committee is headed by Judge Louis E. Leviuthal of Philadelphia, and is composed of Louis Lipsky, New York; Ezra Shapiro, Cleveland; Daniol Frisch, Indianapolis and Elihu D. Stone, Brockton, Mass.

The composition of the committee was criticised in a statement issued by the American Zionist Policy Committee, a pro-Silver group, which declared that the Committee was not acceptable to it.

“The committee,” the statement of the pro-Silver group declares, “is headed by a chairman who is among the most bitter and notorious opponents of Dr. Silver. All the members of the committee, with the exception of Mr. Louis Lipsky, voted at the meeting of the ZOA Administrative Council to sustain the representatives of the Zionist Organization of America on the American Zionist Emergency Council who forced Dr. Silver’s resignation. Three of the five members of the committee have, within recent weeks, made unscrupulous attacks on Dr. Silver from the public platform. Not a single member of the committee represents the forces in American Zionistm which have publicly demanded the recall of Dr. Silver. The American Zionist Policy Committee repudiates this committee and expresses no confidence in it.”

The American Zionist Policy Committee also announced that neither Dr. Abba Hillel Silver nor the Policy Committee ever requested that Dr. Stephen S. Wise resign from the American Zionist Emergency Committee.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund