Nazi Victims in 67 Countries Entitled to Claim German Indemnification
Menu JTA Search

Nazi Victims in 67 Countries Entitled to Claim German Indemnification

Download PDF for this date

Nazi victims entitled to payments under current indemnification legislation may submit claims if they are residents of practically any country in the world except the Soviet satellites in Europe and Asia according to a clarification just issued by the Federal Government.

Under the amendment to the Federal Indemnification Law for individual Nazi victims, claims are accepted only from residents of states maintaining diplomatic relations with the Federal Republic. However, Israel and Finland have been specifically designated as eligible, in spite of the two countries lack of formal diplomatic relations with Bonn.

In addition, the official Bonn announcement list 65 states with whom diplomatic relations currently exist. These are: Afghanistan, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Burma, Canada, Ceylon, Chile, Columbia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Eire, Ethiopia, France, Greece, Great Britain, Haiti, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the Philippines, Portugal, Salvador, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, the Soviet Union, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Thailand, Turkey, Uruguay, U. S. A., the Vatican, Venezuela, Yemen and Yugoslavia.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund