‘courageous Leadership’ Awards Given to Four at Nccj Dinner
Menu JTA Search

‘courageous Leadership’ Awards Given to Four at Nccj Dinner

Download PDF for this date

Four prominent Americans were given here to night the first Charles Evans Hughes Awards for “courageous leadership in governmental services, ” voted by the National Conference of Christians and Jews. The recipients were Gov. Nelson A. Rockefeller of New York, Gov. George Romney of Michigan, Gov. Edmund G. Brown of California, and Florida’s former Gov. LeRoy Collins, who is now Under Secretary of Commerce.

The awards were made at a dinner concluding the annual meeting of the NCCJ board of trustees. According to Dr. Sterling M. Brown, president of the NCCJ, the award has been named after the late Charles Evans Hughes, one-time Governor of New York and later Chief Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court and U.S. Secretary of State, who was the founder of the NCCJ.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund