Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Five Jews Elected to Canadian Parliament; Same Number Retained

November 16, 1965
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Five Jews were elected to the Canadian Parliament in the general elections of last week, final vote results showed today. This is the same number of Jewish deputies who sat in the previous Parliament.

Four of the Jewish deputies were reelected, and the fifth, David Lewis, regained the seat he had lost to Marvin Gelber in the 1963 general elections. The four reelected deputies are Milton Klein, a Liberal, of Montreal; Max Saltsman, NDP, of Waterloo South; Herb Gray, Liberal, of Essex South; and David Orlikow, NDP, of Winnipeg North.

Recommended from JTA