5 Jews Re-elected to Manitoba Parliament
Menu JTA Search

5 Jews Re-elected to Manitoba Parliament

Download PDF for this date

Five Jewish members of the Manitoba Legislative Assembly have won re-election–three of them on the slate of the incumbent New Democratic (Socialist) Party and two on opposition party tickets. There are only 22,000 Jews in the Canadian mid-western province of 850,000 but they play a prominent role in its political affairs.

The three Jewish New Democrats re-elected are Saul Cherniak, Sydney Green and Saul Miller, all members of the provincial cabinet. The two other Jews are I.H. Asper, leader of the five member Liberal Party and Sydney Spivak of the Progressive Conservative Party. Asper won by a single vote and a recount is expected. A sixth Jewish member of the Assembly, Cy Gonick, did not stand for re-election.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund