Majority of Wolf Foundation Prize Winners Are Americans, Analysis Says
Menu JTA Search

Majority of Wolf Foundation Prize Winners Are Americans, Analysis Says

Download PDF for this date

Fifty of the 84 recipients from 14 countries awarded prestigious Wolf Foundation prizes have been Americans, according to an analysis of the Wolf Laureates.

Eight other Wolf Prize winners have come each from France and the United Kingdom, followed by the Soviet Union and Netherlands with three each; Spain, Sweden, Japan and Israel, two each; and one each from Austria, Canada, Germany, Hungary and Switzerland.

Stanford heads the list of Universities whose members have been honored by the Israeli-based Wolf Foundation, with five Laureates, followed by Cornell, the University of California and Princeton’s Institute for Advanced Studies, with four each. Three each have come from Harvard, the University of Chicago, the University of Illinois, and from the University of Wisconsin.

Other universities honored in the Prizes awarded to date have been the California Institute of Technology, Columbia University, Iowa State and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology with two each; and the Carnegie Institute, Jackson Laboratory, Fermi (III.) Laboratory, Johns Hopkins, Penn State, Rutgers and the University of Utah, each with one Wolf Laureate from their faculties.

The $12 million Wolf Foundation administered by the Israel government was established to promote science and art for the benefit of mankind by the late Dr. Ricardo Wolf, German-born chemist, Cuban diplomat and world philanthropist.

The Foundation awards $100,000 prizes in the fields of chemistry, physics, mathematics, agriculture, medicine and the arts. This year it also granted stipends and scholarships to 190 Israeli students and researchers.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund