Jews in the 106th Congress
Menu JTA Search

Jews in the 106th Congress

Download PDF for this date

The number of Jews serving in the 106th Congress will shrink from 25 to 23, even though only one Jewish incumbent lost his seat, and three new Jewish representatives were elected in Tuesday’s races.

The three new members of the House of Representatives are Shelley Berkley (D- Nev.), Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.) and Anthony Weiner (D-N.Y.). Only Rep. Jon Fox (R-Pa.) lost his House seat in Tuesday’s races.

Reps. Sidney Yates (D-Ill.) and Jane Harman (D-Calif.) retired. Rep. Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.) resigned to run, successfully, for the Senate. And Rep. Steven Schiff (R-N.M.) died in office.

Following is a listing of Jews who will serve as representatives in the next Congress. (An asterisk denotes new members of the House.)

Gary Ackerman (D-N.Y.)

Shelley Berkley (D-Nev.)*

Howard Berman (D-Calif.)

Benjamin Cardin (D-Md.)

Peter Deutsch (D-Fla.)

Eliot Engel (D-N.Y.)

Bob Filner (D-Calif.)

Barney Frank (D-Mass.)

Martin Frost (D-Texas)

Sam Gejdensen (D-Conn.)

Benjamin Gilman (R-N.Y.)

Tom Lantos (D-Calif.)

Sander Levin (D-Mich.)

Nita Lowey (D-N.Y.)

Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.)

Steve Rothman (D-N.J.)

Bernard Sanders (I-Vt.)

Jan Schakowsky (D-III.)*

Brad Sherman (D-Calif.)

Norman Sisisky (D-Va.)

Henry Waxman (D-Calif.)

Anthony Weiner (D-N.Y.)*

Robert Wexler (D-Fla.)

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund