Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

King George’s New Year’s Honors List Includes Names of Many Jews

January 2, 1946
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Two German-Jewish refuges scientists, two Palestine municipal officials and several Jews who held important wartime positions are included in the list of the King’s New Year honors announced today.

Among those honored are newspaper publisher Lord Southwood who was made a viscount. Knighthoods were conferred upon Ben Lockspoiser, director of scientific research at the Ministry of Aircraft Production, Pros. Lan Morris Heilbron, prominent chemist and adviser to the Ministry of Production, and H.H. Lebus, an adviser to the Board of Trade, Daniel Auster, former acting mayor of Jerusalem, was mads an officer of the Order of the British Empire and Joseph Saphir, mayor of Petach Tikvah, was made a Member of the OBE.

Named a Commander of the OBE were Dr. Rudolf Peirls, refugee scientist, for work on atomic research, Dr. Frans Simon, also a refugee, for his studies of thermodynamics; Benno Moiseiwitch, noted pianist; Isaiah Berlin, who served on British missions to the United States during the war, Commander K.M. Coben of the Foreign Office, Philip Coban of the Air Ministry and Gol, V.E. Mocetta, Prof, Solly Zuckermen, scientific directer of the RAF, was made a Commander of the Order of the Bath.

Recommended from JTA