Temples Urge Reich Boycott Be Continued
Menu JTA Search

Temples Urge Reich Boycott Be Continued

Urging continuation of the boycott against German goods and an intensive program of adult education, the New England branch of the United Synagogue of America concluded its two-day session here yesterday with the election of Elihu David Stone as president.

The evening session was devoted to honoring the memory of Moses Maimonides. Dr. Israel Efros of the University of Buffalo was the principal speaker. Other speakers were Rabbis H. H. Rubenovitz, Louis M. Epstein, Benjamin L. Grossman and Jacob Freedman.

The convention resolved to support the United Jewish Appeal, the Jewish National Fund and all Zionist endeavors.

A spirited debate on the question of Hebrew school curriculum brought about the appointment of a special committee to deal with the problem.

Speakers at yesterday’s session of the convention included Louis J. Moss, president of the United Synagogue of America, and Rabbi Samuel Cohen, executive director of the national organization.

Other officers elected are: B. M. Kolovson, secretary, and Max Starr, treasurer. Vice-presidents were elected representing various New England congregations.