Rabbi Miller Elected Head of ‘presidents Conference’; Succeeds Label Katz
Menu JTA Search

Rabbi Miller Elected Head of ‘presidents Conference’; Succeeds Label Katz

Download PDF for this date

Rabbi Irving Miller was this weekend elected president of the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations at the annual meeting of that body. He succeeds Label Katz who held the post for one year. Mr. Katz is president of B’nai B’rith.

Popularly known as the Presidents Conference, this body is composed of the heads of 18 national American Jewish organizations. The Conference was organized six years ago as the coordinative and deliberative body of American Jewry concerned with the full scope of American-Israel relations. Dr. Nahum Goldmann, president of the World Zionist Organization and president of the World Jewish Congress, served as its first president for a period of four years. He was succeeded by Philip M. Klutznick, now representative of the United States to the United Nations, who served for a one-year term.

Following his election, Rabbi Miller, in a statement, emphasized the role of the Conference as “a symbol of the values we share as Americans and as Jews.” He added that “these values make up the heritage whose roots reach back in time to the founding of this country, even as they reach back to Zion where our prophets first taught their imperishable message of justice and peace.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund