World Jewish Congress Officials
Menu JTA Search

World Jewish Congress Officials

The following officials were elected by the Sixth Plenary Assembly of the World Jewish Congress here last night:

President, Dr. Nahum Goldmann; Chairman of the Governing Board, Philip M. Klutznick of Chicago; Chairman of General Council, Leon Dulzin of Tel Aviv; Treasurer, Sol Kanee of Winnipeg, Canada; Secretary-General, Dr. Gerhart M. Riegner of Geneva.

Pinhas Sapir, chairman of the World Zionist Organization and Jewish Agency Executives was elected an ex-official member of the WJC Executive under an accord between the WZO and the WJC ratified earlier by both organizations. The accord delineated a “special relationship” between the two bodies. Three WZO representatives will now serve on the seven-member WJC Executive in addition to Sapir’s ex-official status. The accord provided a similar expansion of WZO representation on other WJC forums.

REGIONAL CHAIRMEN: Europe – Lord Fisher of Camden; Israel – Itzhak Korn; Latin America – Gregorio Faigon of Buenos Aires; North America – Edgar Bronfman of New York.

VICE-PRESIDENTS; Nissim Gaon of Geneva; Dr. Arthur Hertzberg of Englewood, N.J.; Dr. Joachim Prinz of South Orange, N.J.; Ezra Shapiro of Jerusalem; and Sam Norich of Madison, Wisconsin.

HONORARY VICE-PRESIDENTS: Rabbi Israel Goldstein (Israel); Dr. Moises Goldman (Argentina); and Prof. Arish Tartakower (Israel).

HONORARY MEMBERS OF THE GENERAL COUNCIL: Aba Bornstein (Britain); Alex L. Easterman (Britain); Jacob Halevy (Britain); Itzhak Nathani (Britain); Prof. Ander Neher (Israel); Dr. Maurice L. Perlzweig (U.S.); Dr. Aaron Steinberg (Britain); and Gilel Storch (Sweden).

Armand Kaplan, Dr. Itzhak Harkavi and Dr. Stephen J. Roth were re-elected heads of the Political Department, Cultural Department and Institute of Jewish Affairs, respectively. Dr. Nathan Lerner was re-elected director of the Israel Section; Max Melamet, director of the North American Section; Dr. Stephen J. Roth, director of the European Section, and Marc Turkow, director of the Latin American Section.