Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Mayor to Open Member Drive for Federation

September 25, 1934
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Mayor Fiorello H. LaGuardia will be the guest speaker Thursday evening at the opening meeting of the Junior Federation of Brooklyn Federation of Jewish Charities at the Brooklyn Jewish Center, 667 Eastern parkway, at 8:30 o’clock. The meeting, an open one, will mark the inauguration of an intensive membership campaign designed to enlarge the membership of the organization to 2,500.

Milton Pariser, president of the organization, will preside at the meeting. On the platform with him will be Jewish members of the Brooklyn judiciary and of the board of directors of the Senior Federation. They will act as a reception committee under the chairmanship of Judge Edward Lazansky, presiding justice of the Appellate Division, Supreme Court, Brooklyn.

The Junior Federation, besides assisting the parent Federation in raising funds, also engages in other activities. It annually enrolls several hundred volunteer service workers for the various clinics, hospitals and other institutions affiliated with the Federation. Last year more than 100 club leaders for the various “Y’s” and centers were enrolled by the Junior Federation. Besides Judge Lazansky, the other members of the reception committee for Mayor LaGuardia will be:

Magistrate Jeanette G. Brill, Jacob Eilperin, Alexander H. Geismar, Louis Goldstein, Murray Hearn, David Hirschfield, Harry E. Lewis, Hyman Wasserman, Supreme Court Justice Mitchell May, David L. Malbin, Benjamin Marvin, Grover M. Moscowitz, Justice Algeron I. Nova, Hyman Rayfield, Jacob S. Strahl, Mark Rudich, Justice Nathan Sweedler and Supreme Court Justice Meier Steinbrink.

Officers of Brooklyn Federation are: Harry M. Marks, Walter N. Rothschild, Mrs. William Linder, Joseph M. May, Benjamin C. Ribman, Mrs. Clarence Bachrach, Murray C. Becker, Mrs. Nathan L. Goldstein, Max Abelman, Ralph K. Jacobs and Joseph J. Schwartz.

Besides Mr. Pariser, the officers of the Junior Federation are Ivan H. Gordon, Bernard Kovner and Hannah Goldfarb, vice-presidents; Diana L. Jacoby, secretary; Joel M. Lieberman, treasurer, and Helen L. Strauss, executive secretary.

Recommended from JTA